Faces are hard so I am going to start off easy!

Haha. OK I feel like this is cheating but I am new to figure painting but I have been studying up and I am going to give this one a plubic tryout. I am new to resin kits but the fits together pretty good.

4 Likes

Way to tackle the face but not having one. :joy:
I get it though. For your next figure a quick technique.

2 Likes

I’ve found, over the years, faces are always difficult- eyes even more so. The only way is to practice and experiment- oh and it won’t always go the way you want it to- but you can always reach for the thinner/paint remover and start all over again!
That being said, there’s nothing wrong with starting with a figure that doesn’t have a face- a lot of the techniques used in figure modelling (highlights, shadows, glazes etc) are used on all parts of a figure.

2 Likes

Thanks for the help. I watched alot of YouTube and basically leaned everyone has there own techniques and way they tackle the job. So I went a little bit further and got these dvds and learned what I think is the basic concept of shading and some tricks. These are great videos (4hrs ea.) if you can get your hands on them but there pretty pricey when you can find them.

1 Like

Calvin tan is one of my favorite figure painters. There are many others. The best way to improve your figure painting is by practice. You’ll eventually find out what works for you. It is very difficult especially the faces yes, but as I said keep practicing. I tried to emulate different styles and techniques but in the end you’ll find what’s best for you.

2 Likes

Thanks. I will say in the passed I have painted some ok figures but there faces were aways wrong and there eyes made you never want to look them in the face again but figures are something I really wish to get good at. So I just have to put in the hrs of practice now. Here is my waiting on me to complete rack! Haha

2 Likes