King Tiger Anneliese

This is what I am currently working on. It’s the famous “Anneliese” from the 503 Tank Battalion, in 1/48 scale.

The tank itself is basically done. I am working on the figures and extras to go with it. Then I will tweak up the mud and weathering to tie it all together.
I still have more photos to upload. I am not really doing a build log, so no step by step, but some in progress photos. Right now I am working on the crew faces. I am not very good at painting figures, and even worse now because of my eyesight. So far they are coming out OK.
Ken.

5 Likes

Looking really good!
Cant wait to see it finished.

Very nice looking model!..Did you apply the zimmerit using putty and what
figures are you using?
Cheers,

Thanks for the kind words. The zimmerit is from Monroe Purdue; it is laser etched paper, really great stuff.
Ken.

OK, I won’t go into this too much, because there is another thread on this subject, but I find that many modern kits are to pricy for my budget. Additionally, in my experience, with a little work and maybe some modern aftermarket bits, you can take an older kit and have come out really good. This is one of those.

This is the old 1/48 King Tiger from Bandai, made in the 1970s. It was pretty much cutting edge when it came out, and was the only thing available in that scale for decades. It is one of many kits I inherited from my dad, so it holds kind of a special place in my heart. It’s kind of a collaboration between him and me. He had the interior basically finished, and had started on the outside, with the suspension done and some painting. I would finish off by completing the exterior.

This is the interior pretty much as he built it. He did a really nice job on the Bandai engine. I added the radiator and cooling fan units to the engine bay, I found them on shapeways. The driver is a Bandai figure that came with the kit.