Mystery shotgun

I went through the gate at McChord Field today and the gate guard had a weapon I haven’t seen before. It looked like an M4 carbine but was a shotgun. the barrel looked about a foot long with what looked like a suppressor on the front. Anyone know what it is?

Might be the M26 Mass i see them coming through the DuPont and center drive gate at jblm. Nice to know there’s other people up here @TopSmith

Could be an M26, (looks like an M203 inspired shotgun add on). I’m no expert , but some units are testing new weapons as replacements for M16/M4 family, and the Textron prototype has a large suppressor that resembles a shotgun. That might be what you saw, but as I said, I’m far from an expert on current small arms (learned my trade on M14’s).

It is an M26. I taught its functioning to the competitors at the most recent USARC Best Warrior Competition. It can be easily switched from right handed to left handed fire by pulling a detent underneath the bolt, (well, somewhat easily, you wouldn’t be doing this under combat conditions) removing the charging handle and inserting it on the opposite side. If I had to complain about any one particular feature of it, it would be the AK style of magazine.
The "suppressor’ looking device is simply a stand off tube that can be slid forward to enable placing the muzzle of the gun against a door without creating excessive overpressure,
Personally I never had issues with our Mossie 500’s, and they’re a hell of a lot less expensive.

So the M26 is usable as a stand alone weapon and/or add on to the M4 (like the M203)?

Sorry if I date myself using old nomenclature, it’s been a long time…

Looking at barrel length and knowing about barrel length verses muzzle velocity etc… I would want an M4 shotgun or about any other weapon. This has to be designed as a very close range weapon. At the range this would be most effective, a bayonet mount should be included. Maybe I am wrong but this looks looks a 20 foot or less weapon.