New to modelling.. Any suggestions for building my T.72 (Tamiya)

I’m a newbie to this so I’d just wanted some suggestions to building a T.72 , (The Tamiya one)

As newbie, I would say build it just as the instructions say and have fun. Focus on making parts flush and no finger prints in the glue.

2 Likes

The #1 suggestion I’ve seen is that the kit can only be accurately modeled using the East German markings. The reason being is that the tank Tamiya studied, & what they based the molds on, was an East German hybrid machine. IIRC it has the hull of a T-72M1, but the turret of a T-72. If that is something important to you.

Otherwise a nice kit that builds up well, & looks the part afterwards. I built one several years ago, & enjoyed the experience.

Damon.

I’m just worried I’ll mess up the model

Alright , thanks

Trim the parts where they attached to the sprue. Test fit everything to be sure the parts all fit, and that you are putting them in the correct place. Follow the directions, Tamiya kits are very good for that. And have fun!
Ken

1 Like

Alright , Thanks

I’ll ask more questions once I built with my dad :slight_smile:

Ryan and the others sum it up pretty well…use it as the beginning of a learning curve and enjoy building it…

Alright , btw cool empire picture

Use side cutters, fine needle files and fine sandpaper glued to wooden sticks
instead of carving with a sharp knife. Good enough side cutters can be had for a few
dollars, they won’t be much good for cutting wires but they’re fine for plastics. Cut wide of the part
and file/sand down to a smooth surface.

My modelling became a lot easier and the skin on my fingers had an easier life
when I stopped using knives.

Don’t rush it. Test fit until everything fits the way it should BEFORE adding any glue.
Use solvents, Tamiya Extra Thin or similar, since this reduces the risk of glue smears.
If you DO get glue in the wrong place: Let it dry/harden and then carefully sand it off.