Pz.Kpfw.III References Needed

Dear All,
I’ve never done a 1/16 project before. The recent Das Werk Pz.Kpfw.III Ausf.J release finally hooked me. I’d like to do a “David Parker” sytle build of this kit. I currently have a mix of references of varying quality/usefulness:

ModelArt AFV Super Detail Photo Book Vol.6 Pz.Kpfw.III Ausf.J/L
PanzerTract No.3-3 Panzerkampfwagen III Ausf J,L,M,und N
Panzer III & Its Variants
Achtung Panzer No.3 Panzerkampfwagen III
Various Internet Photographs

I’m looking for additional references that cover all the interior components and layout. The driver/radio operators stations, fighting compartment, turret, engine bay. Also drawings and references on the components. Cannon, machine guns, transmission, radios, engine, electrical etc.

I’m looking for out-of-print publications, drawings, photographs from personal collections, any thing. If you have references you’d like to share, reply or reach out to me.

Thank you,
Shon

1 Like

Well, you already got the best three ones I firstly thought so I can not add much more… Maybe Haynes?

I had heard of this reference, but was unsure if it was worth it. However, you and other people have endorsed this book.

Thank you,
Shon

Dear All,

I have found all the Panzer III “technical” references I’ll likely ever need. I’ve found that I already had the most useful published resources there are, namely:

• PanzerTract No.3-3 Panzerkampfwagen III Ausf J,L,M,und N
  • ModelArt AFV Super Detail Photo Book Vol.6 Pz.Kpfw.III Ausf.J/L

In terms of information provided, if you read the text and correlate to photographs, everything needed to build an excellent 1/35 scale model is in these 2 references for a Pz.Kpfw.III Ausf. J/L. In order to go the extra mile for detailing a 1/16 scale model I recommend:

• Panzer III Owner’s Workshop Manual
  • 652/17 Panzerkampfwagen III Ausfuhrung E,F,G Geratbeschreibung und Bedienungsanweisung zum Fahrgestell 23.4.1940