Tamiya Armored Carrier Soldier Painting Work in Progress

I’m not done yet, the figures may need another layer of paint. And haven’t finished all the paint work either.
Tips and tricks are welcome.
I also apologize for the quick posting I have done.
And that I didn’t take more time for designing this post.
But I was doing more things at time of posting this.

1 Like

I just painted those guys myself recently. What colors are you using for the basic uniform? I used various companies Olive Drab on each item, (tunics, trousers, puttees) to try to get some tonal variety.

I have used Revell 89 for the coat.
For the bags of ammunition I have used Tamiya X-9 Brown. The helmets are painted in the mixture that Tamiya recommended following the painting instructions. Faces and hands with Revell 35. Bag on the back I used XF-49 Khaki. And Revell 89 for the field cantine.
I’m still a beginner in figure painting and I need to Lear a lot. And current work probably looks as flat as a pancake. But, I’m satisfied with the result so far. Next time is maybe shadow and depth of field bringing more life and 3D in the figures. And probably more. Any tips and tricks are very welcome to improve my work even more.

I’m no expert, guru, or master when it comes to painting figures, so I stick with old fashion basics: base colors, wash, and dry brush highlights. Above all it takes practice to learn what works and does not work for yourself. Experiment a bit to find what works for you.

Here’s my two. Base coat on, then an oil wash of Burnt Umber, followed by dry brushing of each base color or something similar and lighter. I still need to work on the flesh areas

2 Likes

Thank you for sharing your results.
I’m no way close to the skills and the results you have achieved here.
But I’m willing to learn.
I’m wanting to search more information on the internet.
But time isn’t my best friend, because I’m not having enough.