25mm Bushmaster Anti-Aircraft gun?

Old time Italeri released a set of anti-aircraft weapons in the 1980´s that contains a 25mm Bushmaster “Flak”.

Never hear of anything similar in the real world. Is this another example of Italeri “fiction” like their Special Forces HMMWV with Stinger “Vierling” or the Soviet MIG-37 Ferret “Stealth Fighter”

The impracticality of that setup makes my head hurt.

Where’s your power supply? What the hell is the ammo handling going to be like? Will a tripod even support one of those things firing?

Complete BS?

1 Like

I mean it sure looks like it to me, but I’m no expert on American crew served weapons. Sure can’t seem to find a real life photo of one though.

With no proper ammo feed sytem and more important a sighting system, it could only act in a Terminator movie.

The mount on the box art looks suspiciously similar to the one on the RBS-70 minus the seat and some additional bits and bobs…

:beer:

The closest match (so to speak…) I’ve found is the Navy version. The mount is, well…a bit more elaborated :wink:
https://scontent-cdg2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t31.18172-8/15123002_1152706348140459_1408361762590311809_o.jpg?_nc_cat=100&ccb=1-5&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=j8Uo2DlOD6YAX_PrTAU&_nc_ht=scontent-cdg2-1.xx&oh=00_AT8fC1YRpWDURjvwAsNwIfhKRi4NV1aCdy6dQ4i8wkNSbg&oe=62343D6C

In action :wink:

H.P.

1 Like

No, there is no such 25mm Bushmaster AAA autocannon on a pole mount like that; the US Army and USMC are very weak in AAA with the primary gun being the .50 caliber M2HB.

The RiWP turret with 30mm and 7.62mm guns can be and is being used as an AAA autocannon.

And there is a 25mm sniper gun, the XM-109, that looks like an oversized M-82A1.

I remember the old Tamiya Humvee kit with the Bushmaster mounted on the roof!