Airbrush issues

I am brand new to airbrush was trying to get a feel for a it on an old kit I butchered when I was young. The paint seemed to come out almost dusty/grainy leaving a spotted finish. The airbrush is a paasche vl. I am not sure what I am doing wrong or what this is a symptom of

@Mead93 Your paint is starting to dry before it hits the surface of the model. Could be a couple of fixes.

1. Thin your paint more.
  2. Move your airbrush closer to the model.
    Be sure to strain the paint before use. Good luck.
    Stay safe and take care friends,
    Don “Lakota”
1 Like

There are a lot of variables, what air pressure? Paint? What brand? Relative temperature, humidity. Spray distance. Can you give details?
I see in your picture that the turret has been decaled, so are you trying to do a post shade?

I am just practicing on an old crapy kit. PSI was 15 with a 1:1 mix of Tamiya paint and acrylic thinner. It’s quite dry where I am around 35% humidity

I was spraying from about 3 inches away during this test.

The last time my paint job ended up looking like that I didn’t strain my paint and I had a needle that was a little bent. A double whammy.

@Mead93
Was it Tamiya thinner? When I thin Tamiya paints, I go 40/60 ratio and spray closer to the surface.
HTH

Yes it was, Tamiya X20A acrylic thinner. 40% paint I assume? I’ll give more thinner and closer to the model a try.

I had another, probably stupid, question about dual action airbrushes. Am I right in thinking air output is controlled at the compressor? Meaning you should fully depress the trigger for air and then adjust paint by pulling the trigger back. Or should I also be using the trigger to fine tune air flow?

Yes, 40% paint. You can control the air and the paint flow with the trigger. It takes practice. You’ll get a feel for it after a while. One suggestion I’ve heard it to practice with water on paper.