Are you a builder or a painter?

Don’t wimp out and say you like each equally. Everyone deep down prefers one phase over the other. Not that you’re necessarily better at one, but that you enjoy one over the other. This is a fundamental tenet of modelers and the hobby. Everyone is required to be proficient at both, yet they are two completely different skill sets that have absolutely nothing to do with each other. They actually require two different types of craftsman / artist.
So, down deep, which are you? Do you paint just to finish your build, or do you build just to have something to paint?
Myself, even though I have mastery of the airbrush and am an accomplished painter, finisher, and weathering artist, I am a builder. I enjoy the build more. I truly savor the planning, cutting, cleaning, shaping, assembly, and gluing of a kit, resulting in a good solid perfect build. I enjoy the intricacy of adding photo etch, scratchbuilt parts, wire, etc. to superdetail a kit. To me, there’s no sense moving on to painting and weathering until you can achieve a near perfect build to put it on.
So, search your soul and decide. Are you a builder or a painter? Why?

3 Likes

I am more of a painter. But I can use a lot more practice.
My pre shading is weak and the same with any modulation, especially with an airbrush.
And I am sick of wheels, I generally half ass it and try to hide it weathering.
Building really gets to my nerves as I usually break off a lot of small parts.
I really need to get like a clamping system to stop handling the kit as it progresses.
And my shop lighting really needs improvement.
Since I upgraded my tweezers, it has really made a difference with the fiddly bits.

I get more enjoyment out of building. I like painting, but really like adding small details during the build process which come to life once painted.

1 Like