Bullet dents/chips

I am about to paint my Flakpanzer I build. I am modeling it with a dead German soldiers and two Russian soldiers inspecting his body. I want the flak 38 to look like it has been in a fight, with shell casings on the ground, and I was thinking of adding some light damage as well. I want it to look as though it’s been ambushed/attacked by an infantry unit and then overrun. Nothing heavy caliber, I’m thinking it would have been assaulted with mosins and PPsH. I have a couple questions on this.

1. how thick was the armor on the flak 38 gun shield? I can measure but also want to know how thick it “should” be.

2. I am guessing it was robust enough to stop small arms fire, but was unsure if the steel cored mosin ammo would do it any harm? I am wondering would small arms go through? dent it? Just remove a bit a bit of paint? Leave it mostly unscathed?

3. Based on the answer to 2 what’s a good way to show this? I’m fairly new to adding battle damage to Vehicles so any help is appreciated.

I have seen some videos on this topic, but until I have an answer to 2), it’s hard to know the look I am going for.

Thanks I’m advance

For small arms fire on splinter-proof armor I would just use chipping…random irregular-shaped spots lighter than the camo color with a smaller dark gray spot in the center. If the damage is on a Zimmerited surface I would physically chip the Zimmerit, too. If you put bullet holes in thin sheet metal drill a tiny hole and push in the plastic around it (to make a funnel shape) and do the same with the paint chipping.
:smiley:

1 Like

Thanks. It will be on panzer gray. So a lighter irregular panzer grey around the bullet impact and a dark ring near the Center of the impact?