Chipping

This is my first time at chipping. Not sure if it’s right. Opinions ?

1 Like

Think about the reasons for chipping on the actual aircraft. Areas frequented by ground crew for arming, fueling, and servicing. Areas abraded by prop was blowing back coral sand to scour leading edges. Lastly think about consistency between markings and the adjacent areas. If the area is heavily worn, the markings should be as well. One other related point, flight control surfaces are usually doped fabric, which will fade in a different manner than the painted metal surfaces.

2 Likes

Start small. An ammo box, helmet, jerry can, car door, part of a model you no longer like. Focus on that one thing. Imagine what it would look like if it were derelict or abused.
Chipped paint is the result of abrasion by tools, rocks, wind-borne sand, tree branches, being walked on, rubbing against adjacent parts.
It’s also caused by heat and rust.
It looks different in different environments and various with the base material… steel, aluminum, wood and plastic.

I was using the reference that I have been able to find on Japanese zeros in the green paint scheme. Almost all the pictures I found show that the national markings yellow trim and tail numbers do not chip, but the green paint seems To ware quite extensively, I’m not sure why. Maybe someone on here can give me that reason.

Please post a photo you’ve used as reference.

These may be helpful

https://pacificwrecks.com/people/visitors/wiggs.html

1 Like

That is, thanks

1 Like

Some are more well worn than others…

Climate of the service area is going to have some influence on the paint. The tropical islands of the central pacific as opposed to the main islands of Japan or parts of China, Korea, etc.

1 Like

Japanese paint really was rubbish, I suspect the faults were in the primers.