CPT McMaster's Abrams of 1991 Battle of 73 Easting

Hello and greetings to all since it is my first post here. I am a beginner in modelling, therefore I have a question to anyone ready to help…

Is there on the internet a photo or a drawing or decals of CPT McMaster’s Abrams from the 1991 Battle of 73 Easting?

I’ve been looking for a long time, but to no avail. I’ve only found info that McMaster was the commander of the Eagle Troop, Second Squadron, Second Armored Cavalry Regiment, VII Corps.

I want to build a model of this particular tank, using a Rye Field Model 5006 M1A1 model.

Thank you in advance

You may be out of luck here. I know I haven’t seen anything on it. You could try contacting the unit itself: 2nd Cavalry Regiment (army.mil)
or a historical organization like this: 2D Cavalry Association
or see if there is a unit museum with information.
Ken

1 Like

Here are some pictures of H.R. McMaster and tanks from Eagle Troop.

For markings, all 2ACR tanks had a white X on a black rectangle on the back of the turret bustle rack for ID.

For his tank, here are the specifics.

Coalition ID Chevron and an up arrow on the side armor, both sides.

MAD MAX on the bore evacuator.

Bumper codes were, when looking at the vehicle both front and rear:

Left Side
VII 2/2 CAV

Right Side
E 66

Here is a very nice version of it that our own Pete “Epi” Becerra did a while ago.

Hope that helps and good luck with it.

3 Likes

Did they actually have the bumper codes during the battle? I know most of our vehicles (1/3ACR) did not.
Ken

Maybe, maybe not. I don’t know for sure. I think it would be good to put on the model though to help ID it.

Thank you! You put a lot of effort to answer me as fully as possible.
If it’s not a problem, I would like to take advantage of this opportunity and ask two, more general questions about Desert Storm Abrams tanks…