Designing a lamp for modelmakers. I would appreciate your help

Hello everyone,

I am a design student in Italy, currently taking a product development studio for which I have to design an adjustable, LED table lamp. We were free to define a context of use for the lamp and my group and I naturally gravitated towards handcrafting activities. More specifically, we decided to focus on the fine detailing (painting, cutting, engraving, sanding) of components in model-making (plastic models, dioramas, architectural models …).

We have just completed a market analysis and identified a few features we would like to implement. However, we need to verify their relevance to model-makers. I’ve interviewed two model makers from my groups’s close circle. While their input clarified certain needs, we remain undecided (Two people isn’t much to start from).

I would really appreciate any suggestions and remarks. Or, if you have the time, We also have a form composed of a total of 13 questions.

Thank you in advance to everyone,

Tarek

Sounds good, lightning is very important.

Note that there the question 13 refers to 11 while it should be 12, and 6 does not allow multiple selections.

Hi Tarek, I use this model (Casalife SL-2347, 72 x 0.06W non-replaceable LEDs) with magnifying lens…

The magnifier is extremely useful and the white light is excellent. The problem is how to bring the light/magnifier closer to the subject. Most model-makers’ workbenches/desks tend to become crowded so the actual working area is typically small & restricted. With this lamp, you have to manhandle the whole lamp to first move the base further away and then bend the arm down when you don’t want to move the object being worked on – this takes up too much space. I would much prefer an angle-poise arm on a clamp to fix it to the side of the desk - this would make the base redundant and free up more space to work.