Diorama and vehicle weathering coherence

Hi everyone,

In real life most armored vehicles are covered with dust and mud. I haven’t built many models yet but I have managed to replicate dust on a Tamiya M1A2 Abrams. I consider myself to be a beginner so at my level I was satisfied with the outcome. (I did that using chipping fluid and then removing very lightly sprayed Tamiya acrylics.)

However, I feel absolutely lost when trying to make a diorama base which actually harmonizes with the weathering of the armored vehicle. For example, if I make a diorama base using some acrylic paste I find the best way to make it dusty is to apply dry pigments but I find it extremely difficult to mix a pigment colour that actually matches the dust that I made using arylics on the tank itself. This is just an example. I am an absolute beginner when it comes to making diorama bases.

How do you guys make the weathering of your diorama bases match the weathering of the models?

Any suggestions are welcome.

3 Likes

The trick is to use the same medium on both. In the example you give above, take some of the pigment you are using on the base, and apply it to the tank, especially on the running gear and lower part of the tank. This will help to blend it or “harmonize” it with the base. You don’t have to change the color of the tank, just enough to blend the two together.
Ken

1 Like