French Army Panther - Post War

To be honest this is a bit of a smokescreen while I play catch-up with a couple of other projects. I recently ordered the Osprey book on “Foreign Panthers“ and that reminded me that I’d tackled such a build back in 2018.

I didn’t have that much to go on back then, and I’ve yet to read the Osprey book in full, but some might be interested in my rendition.

It’s the Tamiya kit of the Ausf G; I’m not actually sure if the French ever managed to find a G in relatively good condition – most of the images on the excellent site “Chars Français” – show most in Zimmerit and rather tatty at that. I’m no Panther expert either and realise I may have those complicated fan covers wrong. I surmised that a Commander’s MG would still be a necessity for any self-respecting tank force and thought that the French may, just may have modified the German mount to take a French weapon – in this case a Reibel 7.5mm (as seen on post war armoured cars). I further thought that in the interests of ammo commonality they might have modified the glacis MG position to take the same gun. Whether or not that’s technically feasible I don’t know, but nothing a well-equipped military workshop couldn’t get around I would have thought.

Markings included a French Army registration plate but I believe that this application is unlikely; as I say, I’ve yet to read the Osprey book covering this aspect. I believe the commune title “Cassel” is appropriate although I don’t know if there was ever a Panther thus named.

I thought that US radios might be fitted, which led me to utilising a Commander figure with an American tank helmet – as well as the antenna on the rear deck.

The whole depicted out for a “road run” or exercise, in the Mourmelon-Suippes area in 1949:

Right, now back to those other projects.

11 Likes

Excellent! Great subject, not often seen. I seem to recall a Star Decals sheet for a French Panther. Great work.

Very sweet! Well modeled!