German Rail Diorama

This is my first attempt at a proper Diorama. First up is Sabre Models 80T Plattformwagen 6 Axle. We’ll see how it goes.

First up are the bogies. I ignored the assembly instructions as you would need at least three pairs of hands to assemble it the way Sabre want.

So the bogies were built up without the wheels to make painting etc. easier.

Next up was the flatbed.

Now ready for priming.

All the wood areas covered in a light brown and then “planks” masked off in stages and given various shades.

11 Likes

Awesome! I’ve got the two axel version.
You have to tell us more about the build.

3 Likes

Looking like it built up nicely and the planking looks great… great idea about the weathering and finish on different planks as well mate.

2 Likes

Wow looks great. I have a flat car from Sabre in my stash. I’ll be following this.

3 Likes

Next after a coat of matt acrylic varnish an oil wash was applied along with some pigments and panel liner run along the space between the planks.

Wood masked off, german grey applied,decals and finally weathered.

If anyone could suggest how I go about attaching the track to the diorama base please say.
Specifically:

1. Paint it first before putting on base.
  2. Not paint any of it and do it once attached.
  3. What would you use for glue and what sort of substrate to put it on?
17 Likes

Thank you.
@Dan @metalhead85 @Johnnych01
Next part of the puzzle is this:

and lots more practice figure painting!

3 Likes

Great ! Those are nice . Can’t wait to see it done

2 Likes

If the base is made of some type of putty, just push it into the putty.
Paint before or after each has it’s advantages.

2 Likes

Nice build Cats, especially like the wooden decking, extremely well done, :+1: :slightly_smiling_face:.