Gluing Resin Together So That It Stays Together

I have several resin figures of good quality. Problem: I tried super glue and epoxy, but I cannot get the figures to stay together; they come apart too easily. Fortunately before I started painting them. What does anybody else do?

Super glue and epoxy usually work well on resin. Perhaps the manufacturer got a little carried away with the mold release. Soap and water usually removes the release residue. Good luck.

1 Like

The above, plus some resins just don’t take super glue well. In my experience it was the very few Verlinden figures I purchased, although I’m sure there are others. Never had a problem with Legend, CMK or Live-Resin. But when it does happen, i simply drill holes in the parts and pin them together with pieces of brass rod.

1 Like

I have had good luck with Liquitex Gloss Gel Medium.

I use Greenstuffworld CA glue and it works great for resin.

Mating surfaces need to be clean and err… flat, Gap-filling superglue/CA isn’t going to work if your surfaces are more gap than flats.

Drilling & pinning is always a good option, as is making sure your Superglue/CA is fresh & of good quality.

2 Likes

As @18bravo and @Jon_Arnold said- drilling and pining is a good approach- I use the straight bits of paper clips.

I find that roughing up the two surfaces to be mated can sometimes help- a coarse sanding file would be suitable. Depending on size/shape you could also try putting it in a grip vice or something of that nature.

1 Like

Less is more with CA glue,too much doesnt help,also as was mentioned,rough up the surfaces.

1 Like

Superglue does stick, but you have to wait for it to dry. The “Dries in 10 seconds” claim is bogus. I think you’re rushing it…patience is the key.

Washing the resin and roughing up the glue surfaces also helps.