Hobby Fan M51 dump truck question

Hi All,

Looking at buying the above but its alot of cash for me right now. Anyone have any opinions on the quality of this or other HF kits?

I’ve got their M936-based wrecker, but its down the list a bit so any quality, fit info on their stuff would be appreciated.

This might be of some help to you. Terry Ashley is a very well respected and honest reviewer. You can trust what he says to be what you get.
https://www.perthmilitarymodelling.com/reviews/vehicles/hobbyfan/hf055.htm

Thanks for that link Peter. It was very informative and a good read. I have limited experience with resin, having only worked (working) with one RM kit so far…….

The question now, is C $160 on an AFV M54 and the RM kit for the dump box, or about the same amount on this HF kit.

It’s a conundrum and if you or anyone else have any opinions, I’d love to hear them.

Thanks again for your help.

Denimo

The Real Model conversion kit is for the Italeri base Kit, not AFV Club’s. This may come with issues in parts not lining up, not fitting properly, out of proportion, etc - or it may not. I suggest you see if you can find a build where someone did it and see if they had issues.

The easier path may be the HF kit, given it is all in one.

Otherwise, Real Model made a full M51 kit as well as the conversion. It maybe OOP but have you tried finding one of those second hand or in a store that has old stock?

Not doubting your knowledge there, but how long have RM been peddling a kit marked “for AFV” as a fit for the narrower Italeri M939 etak kit?

If the cost for the two options is almost equal then I would go for the HobbyFan option.

Since the AFV Club kit came out. They just rebranded their sets designed for the Italeri kits without changing them at all to fit the proper-sized AFV Club M54A2 kit. All their M54-type kits are this way.

The Hobby Fan full kits are actually really nice. Far superior to the RM “conversion” kits.

1 Like