Johan 1968 Oldsmobile 442 W-30

Hello all!

I’m brand new to your forum, so I suppose that I should introduce myself.

My name is Steve, and I’ve been building model cars for over 50 years.

My interests for the past decade or so has become almost entirely vintage kits of subjects of American made cars from about 1950, to 1970.

My goal is to take an old screw bottom type kit from the early days of model cars and bring it up to, and beyond, the level of detail of a modern kit, through kit bashing, modifying and scratch building.
I enjoy converting these rudimentary kits into a full detail build, to illustrate that they can become something special with a little elbow grease.

Anyway, I try to rework these kits using mostly old school methods, and avoid as many aftermarket additions as possible, by using parts provided in other kits, as well as modified and scratch made parts.
I find it very fulfilling to make a part if necessary, rather than purchase it through the aftermarket.

This rare, original Johan '68 Olds 442 was built using a good portion of parts from the MPC '69 442 W-30 kit, as well as a considerable amount of other parts, whether from other kits, or scratch made.

The color is Scale Finishes “Cinnamon Bronze”.

Thank you for allowing me to join your forum.

Steve

12 Likes

Welcome Steve and a great introduction with your Olds. The engine detailing looks amazing. Would love to see in future more of your in progress work.

cheers
Michael

1 Like

Welcome aboard Steve. I second Michael’s build comments. While I am not a fan of the color (your model, your choice) the execution was great. Look forward to seeing more.

1 Like

A pristine looking beast Steve and a very warm welcome to Armorama!

Y’know I don’t normally like brown-ish colors either like @Tank_1812 but I have to make an exception here- it’s a bold choice and it’s so realistic looking- plus a flawless finish. The black roof and beige interior really compliment that color too.

1 Like