Pin wash woes

I am fairly new to weathering and I am experimenting with some pin washes on bolt heads. I am encountering a problem I am not quite sure how to solve. I put down my paint, then after it had cured did a couple coats of future and let the last one cure for 24 hours. I then went to apply a grey pin wash I mixed myself with white and black artists oils in mineral spirits. The wash behaves as desired wrapping around the bolt head but as I dries it seems to settle out and leave a much larger area around the bolt head than I was expecting.

Is this normal and I am just expected to clean up the excess with a spirits soaked brush or is something amiss here?

Yes, you clean up the excess with a cotton bud dampened with mineral spirits. Just be sure not to remove more than you planned.

1 Like

What I do is let the pinwash dry for 1-2 hours. Then I take a cotton swab and quickly dab it down directly over the bolt head and at the same time give a little twist You don’t generally have to apply much pressure. I have found that this method usually gets rid of the larger ring and leaves just the ring around the bolt head. Also remember that dirt and grime do collect around the bolt heads and some collect more than others so some slightly larger rings would not be out of order. Good luck.

1 Like

Okay so what I gather is that a little clean up is pretty common and I should be shooting for perfect pin washes without clean up?

Here is my attempt so far

3 Likes

Yes clean up is pretty common. In my experience even using a very fine brush you will have cleanup. Trick of course is to let capillary action work for you but it’s pretty easy to get just a bit too much wash on the tip. From what I see they look good.

Little clean up it’s normal,after slowly you understand how much to load the brush etc,I use Q-tips and brush depending from the occasion