Pre-shading first attempt

I have some nicer kits in my stash I want to build but I wanted to pick up some new skills before doing so. To do this I bought the old Tamiya Stug IV since it is an interesting subject to me and could be had for cheap.

This kit represented a lot of firsts for me. First time doing DIY zimmerit, first attempt at cast texture, first attempt at rust. Above all it is my first attempt airbrushing. One technique I wanted to try on this was pre-shading. I want an opinion of how I did. Too much? Not enough? Etc. I am asking at this stage as I can still go back and cover it up with light gray if it’s too much.

7 Likes

I am a fan of using older Tamiya kit to test modeling techniques. No expert on the technique but it might be a little light, a lot depends on the top coat and how heavy you paint it and then if you do modulation with a even lighter color at the center of the panels.

For the first time out looks good to me. Those older Tamiya kits are perfect for testing new techniques. Excellent choice!.
With that said I don’t use pre-shading.

Please feel free to ignore everything that follows below.

To me Pre-Shading involves guess work since the contrast and shading intensity are basically set before the color is applied. When one’s familiar with the colors and paint involved much of the guess work goes away I’m sure.

With that said, I’ve seen quite a few excellent modelers end up unhappy with Pre-Shading results and end up stripping paint for a redo.

I favor an old school technique called Shadow Painting. Its more of a linear dark to light what you see is what you get technique. Its usually a little more labor intensive but gives excellent results.