Preferred method of creating dioramas

I am about to make my first diorama and was curious what the best substance is to create a surface (In my case desert) . . plaster? something else? I am fairly new to diorama building. thanks

something simple to try then I would take a picture frame as base, then a little bit of plaster, wood glue, sand (preferably the colour of what you want to create) and a bit of little rocks. Then put everything together with a bit of water, stir it well. Then put it on the base and shape as required and voila (just wait till dry :slight_smile: )

1 Like

My Advance on Tobruk diorama is built on a picture frame, the substructure is Styrofoam cut and shaped to the rough contours. It is then covered with plaster bandage, (cheesecloth covered with plaster) that you simply wet and apply. A thin coat of plaster is then applied to fill the pores of the bandage. A base coat of sand-colored acrylic paint hides the white plaster. Finishing is done with a mix of orange-yellow beach sand and small rocks, glued with thinned white glue. Assorted washes, dry brushing with oils and dusting with pastel chalks finishes the job.

4 Likes

Great job! Thanks for the tips.

The “plaster cloth”, (I call it bandage because it’s the same stuff doctors used to make casts for broken bones) is available from Woodland Scenics and other manufacturers, can be found in most any craft store or online model train shop. If you want more texture in the finished model, you can cover it with Celluclay or similar products and texture it with a stiff brush or other tools. I also use Woodland Scenics rubber casting molds for making rock outcrops and incorporate them into the base.