Rifle slings from MJ?

Hi folks, just a quick question. Has anyone used the 1/35 3D printed rifle slings from MJ Miniatures? Any good? Opinions, thoughts? Just would like to see what everyone thinks before I shell out on them as they’re pretty expensive.
G.

I actually, last night, tried one. Of all things, I “converted” an M1 Garand sling to fit an M1 Carbine.
Now, I had to chop off a few mm on one end, but I learned these things:
1-The slings can be a challenge to remove due to the print “stilts” and their flexibility; I ended up patiently cutting them off as I lay the sling on a cutting mat.
2-The slings will bend in hot water, but I found not as easily as cast resin. Be patient, bend a bit at a time.
3-I drilled a wee hole for the “nub” at the swivel and used medium super glue and a kicker. held up as I installed the part.

This is my first time using the MJ slings, much less 3D printed parts (as opposed to cast resin, a la TMD, Black Dog, etc) so i know I made the process more difficult that it should be. Lesson, though, is that if I can get it done, it’s doable.

Finally, the sling does look great once installed and under primer.

Good Luck

Mike M

2 Likes

Thanks for the insight, Mike. I appreciate it. Did you find the detail ok? Equal to etched brass or similar? I’m also looking at the Garand slings for an Alpine Para I’ve got on the bench.
G.

What ever happened to lead foil, and PE buckles/sliders? :pouting_cat:
:smiley: :canada:

3 Likes

Hi Leo, that used to be my go-to when making slings but I damaged the nerves in my hand earlier this year and lost some dexterity in it. Until the nerves grow back, I’m limited to stock resin figures, maybe with a little conversion like a head change. It’s getting better with time though, so hopefully, I’ll be back to doing full conversions soon enough. On the plus side , doing the larger scale figures is improving my painting skills (about time!) .
G.