Sherman Tank ID

Hey everyone… I took some photos last year of a Sherman tank in front of a gun store here in PA. And I am trying to pin down the type…

I’m pretty sure it is a M4A3 with extra armor welded on. With the M34 mount I think that is the 75mm gun but not 100% sure.

Thanks
Delbert

Never seen that kind of gun on a Sherman. Looks like they just put a muzzle brake on the end but also looks like the end of the barrel towards the muzzle brake is thicker. Looks to be in great shape though. Not sure what version of M4 it is though.

yea that is what is confusing me is the gun

I’m no Sherman expert but it seems to be a bit of a frankenstein - A3 engine grilles but with later torsion bars (to make it easier to open the grilles). That’s a post-war(?) upgrade that I associate with HVSS Shermans. It’s also got a dry storage turret.

The spare track links on the turret is something I associate with British Shermans (27th Armd Bde primarily) but I’m open to correction on that. Spare roadwheels on the rear deck? (never seen that before).

1 Like