Tamiya cure time?

I just started learning to airbrush and I am tackling the wheels of my stug IV. I primed with Badger grey primer. Then hit the rubber with Tamiya flat black. About two hours later I went to mask them with a wheel mask and some of the black peeled off. I don’t think I waited long enough. How long should I wait to apply the next color with my wheel mask?

Not a scientific answer, but I always leave it a day or two at least before masking. And far too often I wind up leaving it weeks or months due to that pesky “real life”…

I suspect a few hours just isn’t long enough to completely harden.

also stick the tape on the back of your hand before,make the tape less sticky

Here is my drill for painting something that needs masking. Just before putting the primer on, wipe down the surface with alcohol. Prime with mr surfacer. (I know people rave about stynylrez but I’ve not had good results with it). Let sit over night. Paint it. The dry time between coats doesn’t seem to matter, but after the final coat before masking, let it sit overnight. Then mask, and like vicious, stick the tape to your arm a couple of times before putting it on. While I know that even this is not foolproof, since I started following this method over 2 years ago, I haven’t had a single lifting incident.

1 Like

Thanks for the replies. I’ll wait a bit longer then. Also just for clarity it’s a circle template for wheels, and not a traditional sticky type mask

Like Phil says, I give my Tamiya acrylics an overnight cure before doing anything. I use either Frog Tape for delicate surfaces or here lately I’ve started using silly putty to mask. I haven’t had any problem with those lifting off paint…

:beer: :cowboy_hat_face:

How long did you wait between applying the Badger Primer and applying the Flat Black. If done from one to the next within a short time, the primer would not have had a chance to cure and bond to the base surface.