Tamiya Type 10 (JGSDF) Build

I’m building a 1/35 Type 10 Tank from Tamiya, with Passion Models PE set. Since I’m a rusty newbie, I’ll try to keep things simple and keep detailing to a minimum. My past 4 tank models have been Tamiya’s offerings from the 80’s and earlier, and I’m fed up with all the flash and gaps from the old molds, despite them being Tamiya. I got this kit mainly because I just want to experience the true Tamiya “shake and bake” experience, from one of their latest and greatest!

Wheels… ugh wheels, always my most dreaded part of any tank model. Good thing this tank has long side skirts to cover them up, so I don’t have to clean them neatly.

Wheels and suspension arms all done!

The tail section of the hull was a pleasant build, now I’m starting to feel the Tamiya “Shake and bake.”

I’m trying Tamiya’s metal primer for the first time. I’ve seen most people use the Gunze Mr. Metal Primer, but I’ve never seen people use the Tamiya counterpart. Oh well, time will tell.

There are surprisingly few build blogs of this tank online, especially ones with aftermarket PE applied. I feel like I’m figuring out a puzzle every step of the way. Any feedback will be greatly appreciated. :slightly_smiling_face:

5 Likes

Adding PE to experience a ‘Shake n Bake’ build … Ha ha. That is like saying you will just put a band-aid on a cut, then giving yourself 5 stitches… without any numbing. :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

Hope you have fun. Looks like a nice project.

Ah, I just realized the paradox… I think I got the PE set because I couldn’t stand the cheap looking nylon mesh in the box. In my opinion, the turret basket is a prominent feature of this tank :laughing:.

1 Like

I’ll be following this build. Looks like an Almost Out Of Box build, which are my favorite

2 Likes

You’re right. But the paradox is Tamiya still issuing kits without the minimal PE parts.
Enjoy your build.

Olivier

1 Like