Tried to improve a not great T-34 again

This time was Dragon 6449 and the main inspiration was T-34-76 STZ, 1942, PatriotPark. TAJ Walkarounds.. If anyone wants a list of what to do if you want to pick the kit let me know

9 Likes

Some more pictures

8 Likes

I would be interested.

I am not an expert but your build looks good. :+1::+1:

3 Likes

How bad is it? It’s a Dragon so I know the instructions are horrible.

Very impressive indeed.I have some vintage Tamiya and Zvezda T34 76s.My skills arent up to major conversions.
Nice model.
Richard

Just to clarify the tracks are MasterClub 35020, but the kit ones are the appropriate type. The log is made from a sprue covered in Tamiya epoxy putty and the stowage is Black Dog. I have use pieces from MiniArm 35205, 35166, 35161, 35196.

And honestly I cannot vouch that the model is 100% accurate, either …

The front:

• On the front C half-tube I have added a thin plastic strip to simulate the running gate place, as opposed to the later thinner cast line.
  • The fender were round and added CA with plaster to square it off.
  • The Bow machine gun bulge was replace with Miniarm as the kit was for an earlier production.
  • The head light was replaced with the one from the new T-34/85 border kit (as it is a carry over from the 76 one and is not use) and was moved towards the fender. Also added the conduit.
  • The hooks are also from Miniarm, the ones in the kit are of doubious shape and are fitting an earlier production, well from the pictures i have studied at least,
  • Wish I was skilled enough for straight carving to better emphasize the distinction between the plates and the finger joint unique to this vehicles…
  • Before the turret two small need to be added. I guess they protect the turret ring.

The sides:

• Pretty straight forward omitted the antenna pot and its port. Removed all molded on tie down U’s and replaced them with bent wire.
  • On the left side of the vehicle added the straps for the 2 shovels.