Trumpeter, Meng or Zvezda Pantsir S-1?

Happy holidays and a great new year (in advance) to everyone!

I’m looking at getting a Pantsir S-1 kit. It seems that there are three kits out there: Trumpeter, Meng and Zvezda. Which is the best of the three? I have no experience with Zvezda kits; but am open trying them out if their product is really worth the money.

Thanks for any info you can provide!

:beer: :cowboy_hat_face:

There’s also Tiger models. However Zvezda’s kits lately are really good.

All models are Pantsir but not the same version. If you intend to depict a specific version this will narrow your choice. Otherwise I advise you build the Zvezda offering. The quality is excellent detail wise. The fit is usually good with their recent models (from my own experience). Zvezda used to give some options during the assembly like open hatches but don’t expect moveable parts. Their models are definitely display models.
The most annoying are the poor painting instructions. Zvezda generally don’t give a full set of views to paint the camo schemes and the Pantsir is no exception if you want the winter/artic camo.
Price wise Zvezda can’t be challenged.

Olivier

1 Like

I have the Meng kit and it looks great in the box…

I am about to start on the Zvezda kit. For the price it is very good. I might try to find resin tires to replace the rubber ones since I am not a big fan of rubber fittings on plastic models, plus that in the past Zvezda rubber parts reacted with the plastic and melted it (I have not noticed something similar with modern day Zvezda rubber parts).

The kit plastic is a bit on the soft side and easy to sand, file, remove material. A good wash is advised for the sprues. Parts quality and detail is great, so is ease of assembly.

1 Like