US Armor in Viet Nam

Several years ago, about 1973 or so, I built my first Tamiya model, an M41 Walker Bulldog. I thought this was the coolest little tank and the precision and easy build of the model literaly took my expectation of scale models to the next level, as well I was hooked on Viet Nam armor, no more WWII stuff for me no sir. Well time passes and life happens and after being away from the hobby I picked up Tamiya’s M577 and the seed was planted to build a showcase diorama of the different AFV’s used by USARV circa 1970. So long story short I’ve been working on that fantasy project for about six years now. What started as a weekend “something to do” has evolved into a full blown commitment.
My project, or as I call it 'My little corner of Viet Nam", has been resting on a couple of saw horses until I finally decided a couple weeks ago to build a proper table. I knew when ICM released their CH 54 I would have to enlarge the display so I figured I’d share with anyone intrested my process for the build.
Here goes . . .

This is the original “Terrain” feature started back in 2013 . .

During the Covid Pandemic I was furloughed from work for about three months and I built an extension to the original, my stash of 'Nam models was growing and I needed more real estate . .

We’re at a more comfortable height now, 36 inches from floor to table top allows a better perspective for veiwing the display.
I’ll wrap it up for this posting but there’s more to come :melting_face:

Cajun :crocodile:

19 Likes

This looks very interesting, I will be following along. :+1::+1:

2 Likes

The next few pics show the foundation of the third addtion to the display/diorama . . .