What do I need to 3D print?

I’m interested in doing 3D printing and have no idea where to start. Welcome any suggestions.

I’d like to scan or draw in CAD small parts like flat screw heads replicate.

What’s required to 3D scan a small part like a 1/35 road wheel and change the scale to 1/32 and print a set of new road wheels?

I have an old Monogram Pz IV kit I would like to build and update.

I would think since it’s CAD is easier to draw in 1:1 then I would copy the image and scale down one time to the correct conversion factor for scales needed.

Depending on the software cad and camera, you could 360d shoot the part and let the software cad image and scale down.

Best of luck.

@Tank_1812, that sounds great but which scanner and which printer to look into?

Total newbie on 3D

Newbie here as well. My BIL sent me this almost a decade ago.

1 Like

For 3D scanning you can spend either little money by using an actual camera, or your cell phone, or you can spend lots of money and buy a 3D scanning tool. If you want to use your phone, or an actual camera, it’s both simple and complex. First, you need to set up the part you want to scan on something like a stool, or you could use a turntable or a lazy susan. Then you just need to take pictures all around the object from both high and low angles. This is called photogrammetry and there are phone apps that help you do this. If you use a regular camera, you need a few computer programs to convert the pictures into usable data and stitch them together. Unfortunately, I forget what they are right now and a quick google search isn’t yielding anything.

If what you want is just a screw, it’s easier to use 3D CAD software like Fusion 360 or Sketchup. What you would need to do is draw and extrude a cylinder for the screw shaft, draw and extrude the screw head, then use the threads command to create threads in the screw body.