What is your experience with AFV Club half track model kits?

Hi fellow modelers,

By now some time ago, I have finished some studying on German Half Tracks of World War II.
And I was taking a look at the model shop’s website which model to buy.
I was wondering about the AFV ones that were offered and I copy pasted the information provided on the website in scalemates.com.
Strangely enough I didn’t get any matches with the provided information.
I remember one time to have asked a somewhat similair question on the old forums about AFV their German gun kits.
And they said that they were good quality.
I was wondering if also good words can be said about the half tracks of AFV and if it is in general a good recommendation.
For some time I’m building more Tamiya kits, because I’m liking the good quality and that they fit so nicely together.
I’m not that experienced with making adjustments to parts etc to make them fit better.
Maybe something to learn in the future?
Anyway, I hope you can help me out.

They are not my thing so I cannot say how those kits build but AFV is not Tamiya in general so more care will be needed with assembly and it will have larger part count.

HTH

The only AFV Club Half-Track kit I have some experience of is their Sd.Kfz. 251. There was more flash than I was expecting on the kit. Some of the holes to fit the body sides to the chassis were barely open. And even when I cleaned them up, the tabs that went in them would not fit. I also attempted to add the seats to the floor and I had to widen the holes to get the seat pins to fit. I saw this as the tip of the iceberg and immediately got discouraged as I was trying to build 3 of these for various campaigns.

But I would say if you know this going in and are prepared, they make into a nice finished build.