Zimmerment - ATAK

Hey folks,
what kind of videos are out there to teach us about ATAK products? What kind of glue do you use to attach the resin pieces? I’m just researching this because my King Tiger build is now on hold until I get some guidance on it.

:grinning:

Thanks in advance
Tom

1 Like

Hey Tom! So, I have some experience with ATAK. I love their zimm sets. When I was in my post-college Panther A phase back in 2014-15 I worked with it a lot.

I used 2 different types of glues. Each method has it’s upside and downside.

The first is Tamiya extra thin cement. I’m not sure the science and tech behind it, but this extremely thin cement is great because it comes with a little bruch applicator that allows you to easily apply glue to either the zimm pieces or the turret and hull sides, whichever you prefer. It also behaves in a way that allows you to move the zimm pieces around the tank’s sides to get the positioning just right before it hardens. It dries quick on this zimm, in my opinion, but not so quick that you don’t have a few seconds to maneuver it.

The second method is gap filling or extra thick CA superglue. I use the Micromark/Bob Smith Industries brands we have here in the states. I like these because don’t seem to dry too fast and allowed me to move the zimm a bit. It also had the effect of acting as a gap filler that could be be painted or sanded and made flush with putty before painting.

I love ATAK zimm since I just can’t seem to make good zimm out of putty. I always end up with a much too thick effect. I’ve used Cavalier and ATAK but really like ATAK because you can either cut your pieces to shape, or cut a square, apply it to the tanks surface, and then use a scalpel to trim away the excess. It’s important to me that Panther zimm sets come with a already zimm’d molded mantlet piece rather than suggesting you glue flexible zimm sheet to the contour of the mantlet.

This is how I did it.