Zvezda 3677 1:35 SPG Koalitsiya-SV - Work In Progress

Although I am very new to the hobby - this will be my 3rd model - I have decided to share with you my progress in building Zvezda 3677 - 1:35 Koalitsiya-SV SPG.
Hopefully I will get some advises on how to proceed further…

My reference photo (I do not own it - just downloaded it from the Internet - hope this will fall under “fair use”):

My progress so far:

I have spend 10:30 hours into the model up to now… Like 1 hour after work each day.

12 Likes

Looks very good. The auto loader looks quite complex. Good work :+1:

Looking good so far Daniel. Are you going to paint it as it is in the photo?

Very nice work, it is clear that Zvezda has improved a lot their models and this one looks great.

Note that you have a couple of gaps on the box on top of the turret that you may want to correct, if you haven’t done already.

1 Like

I find it quite interesting that the Russians obviously made the turret loading mechanism work; certainly, in the West (NATO really) such configurations - ie basically a turret-mounted gun high up (from a loading perspective) on a tank chassis proved problematical in the past, for example when the tri-country project SP 70 was undergoing development. This was a project back in the 70s to replace the M109 series; a 155mm FH 70 gun located onto a Leo 2 chassis (there’s more to it than that I’m sure); however, as with so many multi-agency projects it all came to naught. I think the gestation period alone allowed it to be overtaken by other improvements in gun design, but I do recall reading (or it might have been a conversation with an Artillery officer) that the loading mechanism was particularly complicated:

The Russians, pragmatic as ever, seem to have gotten around any technical problems with their loading design.

Anyway, this is all a bit of a distraction; ‘looking froward to the completion of the build.