Advice Needed: Best Paints for Weathering Tanks?

Hi everyone,

I am new to the hobby and currently working on a 1/35 scale tank model. I’ve done the base coat but now I am looking to add some realistic weathering effects like rust, mud and wear.

Can anyone recommend the best types of paints or weathering products for this ? I’ve heard good things about enamel washes and pigments but I am not sure where to start. Also, any tips on application techniques would be greatly appreciated!

I also checked this: https://www.goonhammer.com/how-to-paint-everything-weathering-msbi/ but couldn’t get the suggestions what I wanted to know.

Thanks in advance for your help.

James

2 Likes

I have been enjoying the AK line of weathering products, but u are going to get a different answer from everybody who answers this question. There are just that many techniques and products.

3 Likes

I agree. I think that AK has been a leader in putting out good quality products for weathering.

This includes how to videos, (On YouTube) and the FAQ series of books.

It has really helped me make my models look so much more life like.

One suggestion, In opinion… There is no wrong way to weather something. Take for instance, a tank just gets dirty, messy, muddy, fuel stains, and it gets banked up! Paint gets worn, scratched, and chipped… Like a rental car after a family vacation.

One of the moist effective weathering products I use is called dirt and dust, it brings a lot of realism. Also, one trick is to take a look at where your vehicle has been operating. The dirt and mud color is a lot different in Italy than in Russia.

Just have fun!

2 Likes