Airfix 54mm French Legionnaire

After finishing up the entries for the figure campaign, I started getting the dreaded ‘burn-out’. There’s only so much camo or OD that you can do before boredom sets in. So, something a bit different. Airfix’s French Legionnaire in 54mm, simply because I’ve never done one before. Now, the original pose isn’t exactly inspiring. Probably the reason why you don’t see many about. So, drawing on some forgotten skills, a conversion is in order to an ‘in-action’ pose. First things first though, this is from 1976 and, IIRC, was only on sale for a couple of years so, as can be expected from a kit of this age, has quite soft detail, which needed re-scribing. Next, was changing the pose, which required extensive putty work from the waist down. A new head from the Historex resin range and we’re off!

A few bits of lead foil, copper wire etc. and we’re ready for primer. Let’s see where this takes me?
G.

10 Likes

:popcorn: :face_with_open_eyes_and_hand_over_mouth: :yum:

1 Like

:astonished: I’ll be watching :face_with_monocle:

1 Like

Damn Gary- that is so well modified you would never guess it was an old Airfix kit- stellar work to bring a kit like that up to this level!

1 Like

Thanks Karl, got quite a few of these in the stash so, watch this space…:wink:
G.

1 Like

Will be following along as I came across a box of them for a earlier time period.

1 Like

Got a few of the Napoleonic ones, plus a lot of Historex bits & pieces. I’m in the middle of converting the ECW Musketeer as well. Following Steve Ski’s thread is giving me lots of ideas. 42nd Highlander & French Cuirassier? Retreat from Corunna with the British Guardsman & 95th Rifleman? Anyone up for that after I finish this chap? :grin:
G.

1 Like

I would like to see either one. Steve’s painting has given me lots of ideas but also young padawan is not ready for the 42nd.

1 Like

Beautiful job Lazarus! Can’t wait to see it painted up

1 Like