Anyone have a good recipe for Jagdtiger Dark Yellow?

Hey fellow AFV modelers (and painters). I’m newer here. I’ve been fortunate to meet some good people. In my quest to find just the right Dark Yellow base color , I’ve come across scores of other modelers’s ideas on how they scheme up their own dark yellow. I’ve been a fairly committed Tamiya painter, but I like the Model Master I was able to pilfer off local shelves and some MiG stuff.
The old Tamiya DY was more like their modern day Khaki. I’ve tried to use a pre-shaded gray Tamiya rattle can primer , then the Tamiya DY, and then progressing to lighter modulations such as Sand Yellow or Desert Yellow.

Anybody have better ideas? Paints.? Techniques? Always interested in learning from others. Thanks. d

2 Likes

AK Interactive’s REAL COLOR collection offers you a solid variety of color shades.

Click on the image.

3 Likes

Everyone will have their own approach to this question.

Here’s mine.

I read the story gentleman who owned a real WW2 Panzer and had it restored as accurately as possible. He explained how he went back to an OEM WW2 Wehrmacht paint supplier and had new batches of paint made for his panzer to ensure accuracy. He supplied his research to several hobby paint suppliers as none of the paints on the market were good matches at that time. None of the hobby paint suppliers payed his research any attention.

His comments matched my perception which is based on seeing a few items in original RAL colors in real life plus information in Tomas Chorý’s excellent book. There’s also rumors of certain paint hobby suppliers just making stuff up and guessing as actually doing research is to difficult. That was several years ago but the hobby is slow to change.

The ray of enlightenment seems to be Tomas Chorý’s excellent book plus similar sources.

The book is well researched and the color chips are invaluable in my opinion. Here’s a sample picture from the book.