Axis "Redlegs."

I’m new here and my first new topic post and it’s been years since I’ve posted on a forum so go easy on me if I flub something.
I was an avid builder in my youth but put it aside due to life getting in the way but some years ago I started collecting kits for my retirement and became interested in the German artillery because of the variety of pieces they used. The many variants, captured. Pieces, conversions,…etc. and by extension have become interested in the minor axis powers guns as well. The builds are challenging due to the many small intricate parts and I don’t have road wheels and track links to deal with. I enjoy finding models of some of the more esoteric pieces and converting scratching ones that no kits are made of in 1/35 scale. As well as converting figures into gun crews. Because of Ebay my home looks like a hobby shop and I’ll probably die before I build everything but what’s the old adage about being scale modelers. We have two hobbies, building models and collecting them.
My last conversion was a 12.8cm K81/2 and my next I think is a Romanian 7.5cm Resita model 1943.
I just wanted to introduce myself and see if there were any other afflicted individuals. I apologize if this is posted in the wrong place.

This is a K81/2. A12.8 cm gun placed on a modified Soviet carriage.

I want to attempt a K81/1 which is the same gun placed on a French 155mm GPF-T carriage which is the father of the US Long Tom.

12 Likes

Welcome aboard David! I am also a Redleg; but, focus on US artillery 1900 to current. Arty provides some challenges due to the small parts and then due to the small surfaces to weather.

2 Likes

Welcome David.

You’ve joined a friendly and helpful forum.