Battleship Tsesarevich

As an armor guy I have little experience with ship kits. but want an interesting summer project.
I want to build the Tsesarevich.in 1/350th scale or larger. It is sort of a steampunkish kinda boat.
Do you have recommendations as to which kit to get and which to stay away from?
Which aftermarket products would be worthwhile seeking?
I prefer accuracy and fit/finish given the choice.

2 Likes

Sounds like a great entry for the Made in France group build…

1 Like

Greg for the main kit there is no choice other than the 1:350 scale Trumpeter offerings for a 1904 or 1917 time period. But according to a german build article in Modellmarine page the kit is quite well detailed and good to build. The builder said just the rigging is a demanding task.

Aside from the main kit there are, of course, wooden decks from different countries as well as turned barrels from RB available. I believe I have seen an announcement from Northstarmodels that they are planning to release an etched upgrade set for this class as well but you might check this again at their homepage.

Hope this helps

Thomas

1 Like

Thanks. That is what I am gleaning from the reviews.I think there are 4 frets of PE that come with the kit. I see some finished kits online and was wondering about the lower hull color. Some photos were red and some green. I was thinking green must be way off, but the best built kit was green hulled so maybe there is something to it.

3 Likes

I think green is the right color for the lower hull. I´ve seen pictures of the cruiser aurora from the same area restored in St. Petersburg. There I was able to clearly identify it as a green. Also the Kagero 3D book about the Battleship Sevastopol is showing a green. Lifecolor is selling an Italian antifouling green which should match perfectly.

Cheers

Thomas

1 Like

Ooh, pretty…