Best sbd dauntless kit?

I am looking at getting an SBD dauntless to build as my first aircraft in a while, mostly build armor. I was wondering what the best kit to get would be? I am looking at the Hasegawa midway kit, but don’t know enough about these to know what to look for. Mainly focused on 1/48 scale but would also consider 1/32

For 1/32 I believe it is the Trumpeter kit series. At least I believe it enough that I bought one.

1 Like

I’m no expert on the SBD but in 1/48 I think the old Accurate Miniatures kit looks good to me. Some years ago Italeri had reboxed it.

1 Like

Would agree with Torsten for the best Dauntless in 1:48 scale. Academy has also released the Accurate Minitures kit and Eduard released 5-6 years ago a limited Edition of the AM kit too,
tim

2 Likes

Cheers, I didn’t know the academy kits were accurate miniatures reboxes. Gonna get one of those, now just to decide on the Pearl Harbor version or the battle of the Philippines sea one

+1 on the Accurate Miniatures kit or any of the subsequent re boxing’s.

1 Like

Hi Mead

Yep - Accurate Miniatures and the later re-boxings for 1:48. It’s a great kit. I don’t know about 1:32.

All the best

Rowan :beer:

Thanks for the help, very tempted to order the 1/48 academy rebox of the Pearl Harbor SBD-1 and the Hasegawa Pearl Harbor D3A Val

Just jumping in here, has anyone got any opinions on a 1/72 scale SBD kit worth delving into? AFIK there’s no modern tooled renditions?

Did the SBD-1 have a rear facing MG? Sorry didn’t want to make a new thread. I found out my local hobby store has both kits I want and I might go there then tomorrow, was just curious to know if the 1 had the MG, the ad says yes, but from pictures I can’t tell.

Yes, a single barrel .30 cal.

1 Like

Hasegawa is your best bet Russel. A bit dated but still a good shape. Look out for Hobby 2000 kits as they use Hasegawa moulds and are much cheaper.

tim

1 Like

Yes, a single .30 cal.

Hey!

Just my thoughts on the subject: