Building Andys 1/16th Sherman

Hey guys i haven’t seen this built here yet.
Hope you all like it.
Donald

This looks like a very interesting Kit
Regards
Dona

10 Likes

That’s a big boy!

Got my popcorn, my comfy chair and ready to enjoy this one. :sunglasses: :sunglasses:

Maybe the square opening was for an on/off switch on a motorized version?

1 Like

This is Andys / Takom new Sherman
Regards
Donald

1 Like

Hey Moderator / web guy , I think I screwed up here,
this should be in the Allied AFV section.
Can you help ?

Then somebody screwed the pooch.

Fixed.

Thank You, I’m not really good with computers.
I sometimes get the keys mixed up
Donald

1 Like

Finished for now , Some may wonder why I build this way.
This is easier for me as I don’t have to worry about breaking off the small parts.
The upper and lower Hulls aren’t glued together yet , that will come after every thing is added and painted.
Regards
Donald

11 Likes

Will follow with interest !!!

This is also the way I build Takom kits. Sometimes you have to make sure there is not a part that fits from inside or is easier to assemble before putting larger parts together. Also sometimes you need clamps or bands to hold parts together while gluing. Very difficult to do with small parts in the way. I have this kit as well, so I’ll watch you cut the path for me. Your on point soldier.

even though I’m not interested in American tanks at 1:16, I’ll still watch with pleasure. Any improvements or additions planned?

1 Like

A little more finished , I’ll be building this mostly out of the box with a few improvements possible.

The pins on the tow clevices are a little long you could break the part , I beveled the pin on the side closest to the round side.

Rear of lower hull finished.

I added a large nut where the pin on the tow hook comes through the mount.
Maby something else goes there like a spring ?

Here are the Idler Wheels and return rollers , they all needed putty on the joints.