Challenger 1 IFOR/SFOR

Following my other topic on getting some inspiration for a Challenger 1 used in the Balkans https://forums.kitmaker.net/t/challenger-1-inspiration-requested/20336/25 and having received quite some goodies in the meantime, I just started the build.
The feedback from @Johnnych01 and others were of great help already and also I will “steal” some ideas from @rfbaer build of his Cr1 :wink:

My Challenger 1 will be a wagon as used during IFOR or SFOR without the additional armour being painted in the black/green camouflage. Details like fuel tanks and correct layout of baskets will depend on the final Cr1.
Next to some very nice goodies like the sets from SMM, I will be using Masterclub’s metal tracks, additional seperate tow cables and the decals sets from Echelon and Star.

Any suggestions during the build would be most welcome as I am by no means an expert on the Cr1 but learning about the vehicles is a big part of the fun.

Enough “talk” here are some first very early stage pics :wink:

Edit: I got a question which sets I used so I will add them here and will complement it if something is added.

Tamiya 35154 Challenger 1
Masterclub 35220 Cr 1 tracks
SMM 3546D Cr 1 detail set large
SMM 3546E Cr 1 detail set small
SMM 3546F Cr 1 sideskirts
FC Model Trend 35700 Cr 1 lights
FC Model Trend 35856 Modern AFV antennas

8 Likes

It looks like your build and my “#2” are going to be very similar. What do you think of the SMM parts, and how long did it take for them to arrive?

Seems the Challenger virus is contagious :rofl:

The first impression of the SMM parts is really good. Also shipment from SMM to EU mainland was quick. Customs here however not so much :weary: but that of course SMM cannot help.

For my second Challenger, I will certainly order again some parts.

1 Like

I shouldn’t have to deal with customs fees, but shipping may take a bit longer…