Current IDF AFV colors

I realize this has been asked before, but not really recently. IDF tanks have been painted sand, sand-gray, something that resembles faded field-gray, and brown. Recent photos and videos show Merkavas in the latter two colors. Is that close to the actual colors?
:smiley: :canada:

This may sound rude or offensive, but this is not my intention!
First of all - painting of military vehicles is by no means “color critical” work - I’m not an expert but my gut feeling says that they are painted using whichever paint is currently available. Different batches of paints could be purchased from different vendors, vendors could change the formula between batches, certain colours could be discontinued and so on. Also exposure to the nature elements will change the color of the vehicle over time.
Second is the way the picture is taken and processed. If series of pictures are taken by a professional photographer and later processed by a professional you could expect consistent results, but there’s not guarantee that they will represent the objective reality - in most cases they do not. In most cases this is not true - most of the pictures are taken using AUTO setting, so…
And third - it really depends on how you are viewing the pictures. A color critical setup (monitor, I/O device, calibration, studio lighting, walls color) can easily set you €30 000 back so I really doubt you have invested such an amount :wink:
Long story short - if it falls somewhere within the lightish grey spectrum - you are OK :face_with_hand_over_mouth:

3 Likes

I tried this color blend that cam with the Tiger Models “Nagmachon Dog House Late” kit (thanks to @danielpanev for getting me interested in this kit). The kit calls for using Tamiya Acrylics.

So, I gave it a try…

It came out nice; you can tweak the mix according to your liking, but as-is, it’ll get you in the ballpark.

2 Likes