Glue sniffing white punk

I’m Al, also known as @Arch-Stanton. I built my fist plastic model in about 1963-64. It was an Aurora 1/48 Panther tank. It’s memorable because it was bought on a trip tho the “big PX” on Wiesbaden AFB. My father had driven the entire family from Mainz in a beat up MB diesel sedan so my mother could shop at the “better PX” than the one on post in Mainz.

I build mostly post WW2 armor these days, a mix of US, Bundeswehr, IDF and Russian stuff, although I have Renwall and Revell build in my collection that date from the late 60s early 70s.

The only reason I actually have these built kits is because my sister carefully boxed them up and stored them for years after my parents house was closed down and sold off.

I discovered that assembling things and taking things apart relaxes me.

Maybe this is what I was a successful automobile mechanic for 25 years and a motorcycle mechanic for another 15 until I retired a decade ago.

So here I am, with a collection of models that look like wooden toys and lawn ornaments compared to some of the craftsmanship that I see on this site.

What I see here makes me want to go further and take more risks than my usual pin washes, dry brushing, questionable details and decals and attempts at 3 color camouflage.

Most of my friends think I’m insane for building models.

Anyhow, that’s my story. You guys make me want to do better.

22 Likes

Amazing display. Love the Junkwaffel print.

1 Like

Welcome Al, and I hope you enjoy your time here. You have what looks like a great collection of varied built kits… In fact several Regiments worth lol…

Enjoy it all and look forward to seeing what you build up next :+1:

1 Like

Welcome to the site Al. Very impressive display area you have with what looks like some very nice models and dioramas. Your 1:1 collection is pretty cool too.
I’d like to see some of your work close up if you’d care to post some more photos.

Cheers,
C.

1 Like

Great collection. Who dusts it all?