Good airbrush primer

I just finished assembly on a Stug IV, this will be my first ever attempt airbrushing a model. I am looking for recommendations on a good primer for a beginner airbrusher. When I brush painted I didn’t prime so I am fairly new to the primer world

model master spray primer and then vallejo air work excellent together.

It depends if you want to go with acrylics,Enamel or Lacquers, now on the market I think Badger Stynylrez is the best acrylic, not for nothing it is also re-bottled as Ammo of Mig “One Shot Primer” or as UMP Ultimate Modeling Product Primer,dont require any thinning even if looks very thick work strait from the bottle ,very strong and sandable.

1 Like

Mr Surfacer 1500 is very forgiving in use, never blocks the airbrush, very hard to overspray so basically always gives a perfect finish. Not affected by anything you might put on top. Use Mr Levelling Thinner to thin it.

You’d need a vapour mask and good ventilation, plus goggles. Also need to clean the airbrush with something like Mr Tool Cleaner, or cellulose thinners (also wearing the mask). Then allow the brush to completely dry before using any paint that’s incompatible with those solvents, so purely water based acrylics, otherwise you can get curdled bits. Tamiya paints are OK to use straight after.

1 Like

Thanks for the replies. I am probably going to go with an acrylic as I don’t have a setup currently for great ventilation and won’t be able to get one till I move. I am stuck deciding between Vallejo surface primer and the Badger one. Anyone have any comments on which might be better or are they both pretty good?

The Badger Stynylrez seems to be the one I hear most good things about.