Jagdtiger fender PE

Dear members

I’m new here and I’m relatively new to using PE. I can’t figure out how to attach PE fenders using aftermarket resin brackets for PE fenders. How do I do this? I’ve prepped the PE by cleaning, filing, and slightly expanding the holes for the resin bolts, but I have no idea how to attach the resin brackets to the casemate. I’ve removed the molded ones. So the bolts face outboard? Do I alternate bolts out and flat ones with holes. The instructions are silent. Please help.

4 Likes

Pictures of the parts and test fitting maybe helpful.

Assuming everything thing fits together correctly, my first thought is with a quality super glue, like StarBond. If the positioning and adjustment is tricky maybe a slow super glue or 5 minute epoxy to allow time to position the parts.

1 Like

First thing to do is like kit building do your research. There’s plenty to read searching Google and tons of videos you can watch on YouTube.
Consider a bending tool, I have a Tamiya bending tool pliers for some parts and the large DSPIAE tool for just about everything else.

PE can be made from many metals but brass or steel are all I have seen so far.
Brass PE is fragile and if you bend it wrongly, the act of bending it back and rebending can be enough to snap the part, so I generally anneal it over a tea candle flame to make it more pliable. Don’t anneal painted PE or PE grilles, the fine metal in the grille will like be destroyed…

Glue them in place using superglue, I use a glue looper to apply the glue or sometimes acupuncture needles because they are so fine. lightly sand the side that will be stuck to aid the glue gripping well. Some people like to etch the side that shows with a metal etch to aid primer prior to gluing.

For larger more complex parts I am learning how to solder so I can produce a piece that is stronger.

1 Like