Just Joined and Want to Introduce Myself

My forum name is Builder 2010. I’m a long-time modeler from Louisville, KY, USA, but previously lived in Bucks County, Pennsylvania, and in Germany from 1999 to 2002. I’ve been modeling since my 8th birthday in 1953. To save you the trouble for doing the math, that makes me 75 going on 76. I haven’t stopped learning or increasing my abilities. To prove the point, I just got into resin 3D printing in June 2019, and have produced some startling modeling with it. Here’s an example:

It’s my version of Edward Hopper’s Masterpiece, “House by the Railroad”. It was a bear to draw. It has over 150 printed parts in it including a full interior with actual replicas of furnishing I have in my house. Hopefully it will become an article in Railroad Model Craftsman magazine. It’s also in 1:48

My plastic kits run the gamut as long as they fly, roll, float or crawl. I like them challenging with high parts count, interesting subjects, big instruction books. I’m not afraid to go the aftermarket route, but do so selectively. Here’s a case of where I pulled out all the stops. It’s the Tamiya 1:350 Missouri as it appeared in September 1945 after the Surrender, but before the NYC Navy Day showing in October of that year. The decks were no longer blue, and some AA guns had already been removed. All the masts are brass made by me. The PE is Eduard plus others. It has laser cut decks, main guns by ABER, props by G-Force, and some scratch-built stuff too.

Here’s the Airfix 1:24 Hawker Typhoon. I bought this kit just for the fabulous Napier Saber engine it displays. Was in an FSM reader gallery a couple of months ago.

And finally, the Ryefield Sherman M3A4 with full interior. This kit was insane, but I persevered. Each track link was 7 parts.