Mill - Gatehouse dio

Started by scratching a couple of doors .
Haven’t decided weather to use brick as in the ref pic or stone , I’m leaning on stone .
The water wheel I built a good while ago and I’ll have to make another , the first one all stained and ready for weathering .
Lots to do but I’ll have college and NFL football , which will give me plenty of bench time !!!

24 Likes

Annnd off to yet another great building…
You must eat popsicles by the dozen just to keep your stash of sticks filled! :wink:

4 Likes

Thanks Erwin .
Yeah , they’re dead ringers for popsicle sticks but are actually craft sticks sold in , … well , craft stores , a tad thinner than popsicle sticks .
I worked in a school system [ six schools , four grade schools , a junior high and a high school ] as a maintenance guy for eight years after I retired from Ma Bell .
One of the schools had a bad mold problem and had to shut down for six months . Every year after that all art departments threw out their wood stocks at the end of the school year cuz for some reason they thought over the Summer months they would get moldy from the humidity .
Soooooo every end of June I appropriated wood stuff from six schools before it went into the dumpster , man do I have a lumber yard !!! … and the craft sticks were part of that haul .

5 Likes

I do buy them separate too.
That was indeed a goldmine for the humble wood!!!

1 Like

Never had you pegged as an environmentalist/recycler, whodathunkit? Whatever the woodwork’s off the scale, beautiful work. Are you using oils or acrylics?

3 Likes

The BW picture of the mill seems to show that the mill is a mix of old and newer brick. Was this thing destroyed in another conflict? Sure looks like it was.

Personally I’d go for the look of the original picture. But it’s going to require tons of fine brush time… but that’s just me…
Love the gate

1 Like

Mortar between bricks is subjected to aging processes. When the mortar fails the brick falls.