My First Aircraft Build - Airfix 1/72 Consolidated B-24 Liberator

I have never built a model plane in my life and I am 52 :grinning:
I want to start with a simpler kit and that is what I thought until I opened the box and did some search online…I was very excited with starting something which I have never done before. But after checking the contents in the box I am not so sure now :rofl: :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

I should have done some research BEFORE ordering that kit. So now, I am just going to build this OOB without any regrets or thinking too much…

My plan was to be part of a group build (which I always enjoyed). … But I am having second thoughts since I do not know when I would be able to complete this build and what this build would turn into… More over I want to take my time to learn. So wish me luck…

I will use this thread to ask for help and to post my progress…So please feel free to drop in and post your comments, references, tips etc.

The box looked big enough to inspire confidence and the box art is impressive…

But what is inside will tell a different story…

Most of the parts were inside the plastic bag and no longer attached to the sprue…

I have seen a fair deal of ejector pin marks. But these are the other side… The ejector pins are supposed to be the other side… And look at the connection point… :sweat_smile:

Preview of what to expect in the near future…

They are supposed to shoot straight :joy: :rofl:

I wanted to build the plane on the tarmac after looking at the crew figures. Until I saw the nose wheels. I am supposed to learn more about tail sitter and weighing down the model etc in this build…

This is going to be a fun build I think… :sunglasses:

Have a great Day
Mukund

5 Likes