NATO Camo help

Ok, trying to clear this M109 out of the shelf of shame.

Canada had a brief dalliance with NATO camo between using our own 3 tone and just going straight green.

I’ve never done anything in NATO cam before and decided it would be a good excuse to practice on this otherwise uninspiring kit.

I am however having a hell of a time finding good reference photos. We ditched our 109s ages ago and the few pictures in museums in NATO cam are all single angle and crap quality. The M109 is also the only colour plate that I haven’t been able to find from the old Armoured Acorn site.

Not caring tooo much for accuracy, and ignoring the overspray that I need to fix, does this look convincing enough?

If it’s way out to lunch say so, I’m perfectly open to starting this from scratch.

6 Likes

Looks nice whatever the outcome Don. I think if the 3 tone was only used for a brief spell you should allow yourself a bit of artistic licence and once the decals are on it and its weathered a bit it will be great.

1 Like

You’re too kind as always John. And you’re probably right. I already have visions of…

(Library and Archives Canada Photo, MIKAN No. 4730776)

so the base probably doesn’t matter as much as it currently sits in my brain.

1 Like

I may still have photos of the scheme from when I chiefed an M109 myself. If not I painted one using the references I had at the time. (Over twenty years ago) While I don’t think models make good references, at least in this case I know the cammo is right. I’ll get back with you late this afternoon one way of the other. The faded black is spot on by the way.

1 Like

I did see that one Greg thank you. I try not to use models as references because you never knew who painted them but that does look pretty solid.

Also I love starting conversations with you guys because someone always has a random factoid to toss out there.

1 Like

Oh cheers buddy.