New anti Nazi laws that maybe of interest

I make no pretense to interpret the new laws but simply post this item for consideration. How ‘could’ it affect modelling?

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-08-11/nsw-second-state-to-ban-swastika/101325940

Note the following - “The ban allows the swastika to be used when it’s in the public interest, including in academic, historical and educational settings” Does ‘modelling’ get covered be this clause?

You’d assume the historical category would be apt, but I’m not a lawyer either, so…

I am sure there will be a dip in WW2 German equipment/figures if not banned at any local contests out of an abundance of caution in the area.

This can came from contest committee not wanting to have to deal with it, to insurance underwriters not wanting to have to deal with it, to the event location not wanting to have to deal with it and/or some combination of the three. While it might appear the law carves out a spot for it, people are Karen’s/Kevin’s and the 3 bodies mentioned before might not want to do deal with those headaches.

A lot of their armor,vehicles,artillery,didnt display a swatiska,so it can be avoided without compromising their accuracy in many cases,although some units included it in their badges,ie Afrika Corps

I agree to a point but the bill says Nazi symbols not just the one.

https://www.parliament.nsw.gov.au/bills/Pages/bill-details.aspx?pk=3987

Again the law does carve out a space that I think can reasonable be applied to our craft but people will be people and some will not want to risk the headaches when doing a show.

That sounds like it means some interesting times are coming for those radical folks that have Nazi tattoos and display them in public.

Depending on the venue hosting the model content, the models with Nazi related insignia might have to be sequestered in a room only open to the judges and interest parties willing to view in a historical context so the insignia isn’t publicly exposed.